Menu Close

What were the two most important provinces of the Spanish Empire?

What were the two most important provinces of the Spanish Empire?

The crown then established viceroyalties in the two main areas of settlement, New Spain and Peru, both regions of dense indigenous populations and mineral wealth.

What regions of America did the Spanish win?

U.S. victory in the war produced a peace treaty that compelled the Spanish to relinquish claims on Cuba, and to cede sovereignty over Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines to the United States. The United States also annexed the independent state of Hawaii during the conflict.

What are two places that the Spaniards colonized?

Mexico, California, and the Philippines are just a few examples, as Spain colonized most of the Americas prolifically, and parts of Africa and Europe. By visiting Central and South America, it is easy to see how strong Spain’s cultural influence has been.

What two islands did Spain settle first?

In 1493, during his second voyage, Columbus founded Isabela, the first permanent Spanish settlement in the New World, on Hispaniola. After finding gold in recoverable quantities nearby, the Spanish quickly overran the island and spread to Puerto Rico in 1508, to Jamaica in 1509, and to Cuba in 1511.

Does Spain have any colonies left?

Although Spain abandoned its major African colonies (Equatorial Guinea and the Western Sahara), it still retains five plazas de soberanía (places of sovereignty) off the African coastline. The two main ones are Ceuta and Melilla, which are coastal territories connected to Morocco.

How to find out the provinces of Spain?

A map of Spain’s provinces. Names are shown in Spanish. The table below lists the provinces of Spain. For each, the capital city is given, together with an indication of the autonomous community to which it belongs and a link to a list of municipalities in the province.

What are the eight provinces that revolted against the Spanish?

EIGHT PROVINCES – In this topic, we will now know the following eight provinces that revolted against the Spaniards. These provinces rose up and stated a revolution against their Spanish colonizers.

What are the four main groups in Spain?

There are four groups in Spain, including the main Spanish identity, each with varying degrees of separatist sentiment. Barcelona, Spain – In an historic decision, the Spanish region of Catalonia has voted for independence. Seventy Catalan parliamentarians voted in favour, 10 voted against, while two cast blank ballots.

What kind of government did Venezuela have under the Spanish?

Venezuela Under the Spanish. Under the Spanish colonial system, Venezuela was a bit of a backwater. It was part of the Viceroyalty of New Granada, ruled by a Viceroy in Bogota (present-day Colombia).