Menu Close

What states can you marry at 12?

What states can you marry at 12?

Marriage Age By State 2021

State With Parental Consent Without Parental Consent
Massachusetts 12 18
New Hampshire 13 18
Hawaii 15 18
Missouri 15 18

What states can you marry at 13?

In New Hampshire, the ages at which you may get married with parental consent are 14 for males and 13 for females. In Kansas and Massachusetts, the age for marriage with consent is 14 for males and 12 for females (the youngest marriage age in the U.S.).

Is it legal to marry a child in the US?

Child marriage is currently legal in 44 states (only Delaware, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island have set the minimum age at 18 and eliminated all exceptions), and 20 U.S. states do not require any minimum age for marriage, with a parental or judicial waiver.

What US state has the youngest marriage age?

Utah is tied with Idaho for the state where people get married the youngest. The men get married for the first time at a median age of 25.5 years old, the second lowest in the country, and the women at 23.3 years — the lowest in the country.

What is the legal marriage age in Massachusetts?

In Massachusetts the general marriage age is 18, but adolescents may be married with judicial consent. Unlike many other states, in Massachusetts an adolescent’s marriage does not automatically emancipate the minor, or increase his or her legal rights beyond allowing the minor to consent to certain medical treatments.

Can minors get married?

In most states, minors automatically achieve emancipation once they get married. But in order to get married, minors must comply with state marriage requirements. States set a minimum age for marriage and often require minors to get parental consent or court approval before getting married.

What states allow child marriage?

States With No Minimum Age. A child of any age can legally marry anyone the wish –or are forced– to in Arkansas, Delaware, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Wyoming. Thankfully, common law protects girls under 12 and boys under 14 from the situation –a good thing,…