Menu Close

What is the purpose of the Care Quality Commission CQC?

What is the purpose of the Care Quality Commission CQC?

We monitor, inspect and regulate services to make sure they meet fundamental standards of quality and safety and we publish what we find, including performance ratings to help people choose care.

What is the Care Quality Commission Act?

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates all health and social care services in England. The commission ensures the quality and safety of care in hospitals, dentists, ambulances, and care homes, and the care given in people’s own homes.

What are the 5 new CQC standards?

The new inspection framework sets out five ‘domains’, assessing providers on whether they are: safe; effective; caring; responsive to people’s needs; and well-led.

What are the 5 CQC ratings?

This includes awarding a rating for the five key questions: are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led, and then aggregating these up to an overall rating at service and/or location level.

Who do the CQC regulate?

CQC is the independent regulator of healthcare and adult social care services in England. We make sure the care provided by hospitals, dentists, ambulances, care homes and home-care agencies meets government standards of quality and safety.

What powers do CQC have?

We use our powers to: Protect you from harm and make sure you receive care that meets the standards you have a right to expect. Make sure services improve if the standard of care they provide has fallen below acceptable levels. Hold care providers and managers to account for failures in how care is provided.

What are the 7 principles of care?

The principles of care include choice, dignity, independence, partnership, privacy, respect, rights, safety, equality and inclusion, and confidentiality.

What are the 15 standards of care?

The care certificate standards

  • Understand your role.
  • Your personal development.
  • Duty of care.
  • Equality and diversity.
  • Work in a person centred way.
  • Communication.
  • Privacy and dignity.
  • Fluids and nutrition.

What does Kloe stand for?

Key Lines of Enquiry
KLOEs stands for “Key Lines of Enquiry” and covers the various different areas, which regulatory bodies such as CQC will investigate when they come to do an inspection of your care setting.

What will CQC ask staff?

We ask the same five questions of all the services we inspect:

  • Are they safe? Safe: you are protected from abuse and avoidable harm.
  • Are they effective?
  • Are they caring?
  • Are they responsive to people’s needs?
  • Are they well-led?

What do CQC inspectors look for?

Under the new approach, CQC inspectors will make their judgement on providers by assessing services against five key questions: Are they safe? Are they effective? Are they caring? Are they responsive to people’s needs?

Can CQC shut you down?

The CQC has the power to suspend or cancel registration; once notified of such action, it is an offence to provide regulated services. Registered managers or registered service providers successfully prosecuted for any of these breaches may incur a fine of up to £50,000.

When was the Care Quality Commission ( CQC ) established?

The CQC was established in April 2009 and replaced three former regulatory bodies. The CQC is responsible for the registration, inspection and monitoring of health and adult social care providers, including independent providers, under the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

Why is the Care Quality Commission important to the NHS?

Overview and scrutiny committees working on health issues have been an important source of evidence of people’s views and experiences of health services for the Healthcare Commission. The Commission wants to build on this relationship and to encourage committees to develop an ongoing dialogue with them.

When was the Mental Health Act commission established?

The Mental Health Act Commission had monitoring functions with regard to the operation of the Mental Health Act 1983 . The commission was established as a single, integrated regulator for England’s health and adult social care services by the Health and Social Care Act 2008 to replace these three bodies.

How many care homes are rated inadequate by Care Quality Commission?

The commission had identified safety concerns in more than 40% of the homes it had inspected, and 10% were rated as inadequate. In April 2016 it was reported that 44% of care homes in the South East inspected over an 18-month period were rated as inadequate or requiring improvement.