Menu Close

What is allowed in Eco-Sensitive Zone?

What is allowed in Eco-Sensitive Zone?

Activities permitted in the areas include ongoing agriculture and horticulture practices by local communities, rainwater harvesting, organic farming, adoption of green technology and use of renewable energy sources. The width of the ESZ and type of regulation may vary from protected area to area.

What is the meaning of ecologically sensitive area?

Ecological Sensitive Areas or Ecologically Sensitive Zones refer to those areas which have been notified by the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change as areas around the Wildlife Sanctuaries, National Parks and Protected Areas as requiring more protection due to their sensitiveness.

How many eco sensitive zones are there in India?

In the previous year, around 40 sanctuaries and national parks were declared as ‘eco-sensitive zones’. At present there are over 600 sanctuaries and national parks in the country, the official added.

Which of the following is true regarding the purpose of ecologically sensitive zone?

The purpose of declaring an Eco-Sensitive Zone is to create a buffer zone, where activities will be regulated to protect areas demarcated as Protected Areas. The ESZ guidelines include a broad list of activities that could be allowed, promoted, regulated or promoted.

WHO declares eco sensitive zone?

Eco-Sensitive Zones (ESZs) or Ecologically Fragile Areas (EFAs) are areas notified by the MoEFCC around Protected Areas, National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries. The purpose of declaring ESZs is to create some kind of “shock absorbers” to the protected areas by regulating and managing the activities around such areas.

WHO declares ecologically sensitive areas?

Eco-Sensitive Zones (ESZs) or Ecologically Fragile Areas (EFAs) are areas in India notified by the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change (MoEFCC), Government of India around Protected Areas , National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries.

Which landforms are ecologically sensitive areas?

We plan to create the environmental planning for the ecologically sensitive area, such as Sand Dunes, Mudflats, National parks, marine parks, sanctuaries, reserve forests, wildlife habitats and other protected areas including Biosphere Reserves, Salt Marshes, Turtle nesting grounds, Horse shoe crabs habitats, Sea grass …

Are deserts ecologically sensitive areas?

Deserts are vitally important to the planetary ecosystem. They cover approximately 1/3 of the dry land of our planet (3, p1). They are also amongst the most fragile and endangered biomes.

WHO declares eco-sensitive zone?

What are sensitive areas?

Term. (1) Areas of a country where special measures may be given to protect the natural habitats which present a high level of vulnerability.

What is eco friendly zone?

WHO declares Esz?

The guidelines for declaring ESZ was issued by the Central government on February 9, 2011, as per the direction of the Supreme Court. Later, it was decided to declare up to 10 km on the border of the protected area as default ESZ, if the zone would not be declared properly.

What makes an area an ecologically fragile area?

Ecologically fragile are is an extremely sensitive and highly vulnerable ecological are with high susceptibility to anthropogenic stress, highly altered natural habitats, seriously threatened biodiversity, and very delicately balanced and unstable abiotic and biotic conditions.

When to put an area in an Eco-Sensitive Zone?

Moreover, in case where sensitive corridors, connectivity and ecologically important patches, crucial for landscape linkage, are beyond 10 kilometres width, these should be included in the Eco-Sensitive Zones.

Which is the most ecologically fragile area in India?

Coral communities are also fast depleting due to global warming of oceans, increasing acidification of sea water, wide spread marine pollution etc. According to the report Gadgil committee, there are 123 ecologically fragile villages in the Western Ghats range of Kerala (India). Sharing is Caring …..

How big is the Eco Sensitive Zone in India?

The HLWG had recommended the ESZ measuring about 59,940 square km covering the six states. The Environment Ministry had issued first draft notification to declare ESZ in 2014. The area demarcated as Eco-Sensitive Zone (ESZ) was about to 56,825 square km. Subsequently, second, third and fourth drafts were issued in 2015, 2017 and 2018 respectively.