Menu Close

What country borders both the Red and Mediterranean seas What is its capital?

What country borders both the Red and Mediterranean seas What is its capital?

Egypt. Egypt is a country in North Africa, with the Sinai Peninsula forming a land bridge to Western Asia. Egypt borders the Mediterranean Sea to the north, the Gaza Strip and Israel to the northeast, the Red Sea to the east, Sudan to the south and Libya to the west.

What is the country that borders both the Mediterranean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean?

Along with France and Morocco, it is one of only three countries to have both Atlantic and Mediterranean coastlines. Extending to 1,214 km (754 mi), the Portugal–Spain border is the longest uninterrupted border within the European Union.

What countries border the Black Sea?

Six countries border with the Black Sea, including Ukraine to the north, Russia and Georgia to the east, Turkey to the south, and Bulgaria and Romania to the west.

What country of the Middle Eastern region is bordered by the Black Sea and the Mediterranean Sea?

Turkey occupies the Anatolian peninsula between the Black Sea and the Mediterranean Sea, and a small portion in southeastern Europe, west of the Bosporus. Capital city is Ankara; the largest city is Istanbul; spoken languages are Turkish (official), Kurdish, and other minority languages.

How many countries touch the Red Sea?

Red Sea
Basin countries Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Yemen and Somaliland
Max. length 2,250 km (1,400 mi)
Max. width 355 km (221 mi)
Surface area 438,000 km2 (169,000 sq mi)

Can you swim in the Black Sea?

With a clean freshwater surface, swimming in the Black Sea is possible; though offer a different experience from other water bodies. With its strange features, including the high level of minerals and salt, normally the objects tend to float on the water.

Why is called the Black Sea?

Why is the Black Sea black? The sea was first named by the ancient Greeks who called it “Inhospitable Sea.” The sea got this reputation because it was difficult to navigate, and hostile tribes inhabited its shores.

Why is Black Sea not a lake?

No, the Black Sea is not a lake. The Black Sea is an example of an inland sea. The Black Sea is at sea level, and it is open to the ocean.

Why do they call it the Black Sea?

Theories suggest that before being called the Black Sea, the body of water was called as ”inhospitable Sea,’ mostly because of the presence of savage tribes on its shores. According to one argument, storms during the winter make the water in the Black sea appear black, leading the sailors to call it the Black Sea.

What country touches 3 oceans?

Together, oceans cover 71-72% of the planet’s surface and contain 97% of the water on Earth. Asia and North America are the only continents that historically border three oceans while Russia and Canada are the only countries that border three oceans.

Which is the only country that borders both the Mediterranean Sea and the Black Sea?

What is the capital of not only country that one or both the Mediterranean Sea and the Black Se is the capital of not only country that borders both the Mediterranean sea and the black sea a? Ankara is the capital of the Republic of Turkey, the only country that borders both the Mediterranean Sea and the Black Sea.

Which is the largest country in the Mediterranean Sea?

Europe has the most nations with coastlines along the Mediterranean Sea with 12. Populations listed are from mid-2017. Algeria covers 919,595 square miles and has a population of 40,969,443.

Which is the smallest country in the Mediterranean?

Morocco’s population is 33,986,655. The country covers 172,414 square miles. Rabat is its capital. Tunisia, whose capital is Tunis, is the smallest African nation along the Mediterranean, with just 63,170 square miles of territory and a population of 11,403,800.

Where does the Mediterranean Sea start and end?

Amanda Briney, M.A., is a professional geographer. She holds a Certificate of Advanced Study in Geographic Information Systems (GIS) from California State University. The Mediterranean Sea is a large body of water with Europe to the north, northern Africa to the south, and southwestern Asia to the east.