Menu Close

What are the two regions of bone structure called?

What are the two regions of bone structure called?

Gross Anatomy of Bones. A long bone has two main regions: the diaphysis and the epiphysis (Figure 6.3. 1).

What 2 structural components make up our bones?

Composition. Bones consist of living cells (osteoblasts and osteocytes) embedded in a mineralized organic matrix. The primary inorganic component of human bone is hydroxyapatite, the dominant bone mineral, having the nominal composition of Ca10(PO4)6(OH)2.

What is the bone structure called?

The microscopic structural unit of compact bone is called an osteon, or Haversian system. Each osteon is composed of concentric rings of calcified matrix called lamellae (singular = lamella).

What are the parts of a bone?

Each bone has three main layers:

  • Periosteum: The periosteum is a tough membrane that covers and protects the outside of the bone.
  • Compact bone: Below the periosteum, compact bone is white, hard, and smooth.
  • Spongy bone: The core, inner layer of the bone is softer than compact bone.

What is the metaphysis?

The metaphysis is the region where the epiphysis joins the diaphysis; in a growing bone this corresponds to the calcified layer of the epiphyseal plate together with the interdigitating bone (see Figure 4.19). The interface between the hypertrophic and calcified layers is sometimes referred to as the tidemark.

What is spongy bone called?

Cancellous bone, also called trabecular bone or spongy bone, light, porous bone enclosing numerous large spaces that give a honeycombed or spongy appearance. The bone matrix, or framework, is organized into a three-dimensional latticework of bony processes, called trabeculae, arranged along lines of stress.

What is the basic structure of bones?

As shown in Figure below, the basic structure of bones is bone matrix, which makes up the underlying rigid framework of bones, composed of both compact bone and spongy bone. The bone matrix consists of tough protein fibers, mainly collagen, that become hard and rigid due to mineralization with calcium crystals.

What is bone structure of human body?

There are two parts to the skeleton: Axial skeleton – bones along the axis of the body, including the skull, vertebral column and ribcage; Appendicular skeleton – appendages, such as the upper and lower limbs, pelvic girdle and shoulder girdle.

What is the basic structure of the bone?

What are bone cavities called?

Anatomical terminology The medullary cavity (medulla, innermost part) is the central cavity of bone shafts where red bone marrow and/or yellow bone marrow (adipose tissue) is stored; hence, the medullary cavity is also known as the marrow cavity.

What is the structure of a long bone?

A long bone has two parts: the diaphysis and the epiphysis. The diaphysis is the tubular shaft that runs between the proximal and distal ends of the bone. The hollow region in the diaphysis is called the medullary cavity, which is filled with yellow marrow.

What are the types of epiphysis?

Types of Epiphysis

  • Pressure epiphysis: o Is present at the ends of the long bone. o Is articular in nature (involved in formation of joints).
  • Traction epiphysis: o Is produced due to the pull of the muscle and therefore provide attachment to the muscle/s. o Is non-articular.
  • Atavistic epiphysis: •
  • Aberrant epiphysis: •

Which is the hollow shaft at the distal end of the bone?

The diaphysis is the hollow, tubular shaft that runs between the proximal and distal ends of the bone. Inside the diaphysis is the medullary cavity, which is filled with yellow bone marrow in an adult.

What makes up the structural unit of compact bone?

If you look at compact bone under the microscope, you will observe a highly organized arrangement of concentric circles that look like tree trunks. Each group of concentric circles (each “tree”) makes up the microscopic structural unit of compact bone called an osteon (this is also called a Haversian

Which is part of the bone filled with red bone marrow?

The wider section at each end of the bone is called the epiphysis (plural = epiphyses), which is filled internally with spongy bone, another type of osseous tissue. Red bone marrow fills the spaces between the spongy bone in some long bones.

Which is part of the bone contains connective tissue?

The cellular layer is adjacent to the cortical bone and is covered by an outer fibrous layer of dense irregular connective tissue (see Figure 6.3.4a ). The periosteum also contains blood vessels, nerves, and lymphatic vessels that nourish compact bone. Tendons and ligaments attach to bones at the periosteum.