Menu Close

What are the main geographical features of Scotland?

What are the main geographical features of Scotland?

coastline rivers hills glens mountains islands lochs Each of these physical features can be seen in Scotland’s landscape. We can divide Scotland’s landscape into three areas. The Highlands and Islands. The Central Lowlands.

What are the major landforms in Scotland?

Traditionally, the Scottish landscape has been divided into three main sectors – the Highlands and Islands, the Southern Uplands and lying between these two hill areas, the Central Lowlands.

What are the physical features of Scotland’s landscape?

Scotland’s diverse landscapes consist of dramatic mountains and glens, forests and moorlands and a highly indented coastline fragmented into a diverse range of islands that enrich our northern and western shores. There are also rolling lowlands, fertile straths, broad estuaries and settlements.

What are the three geographical regions in Scotland?

Scotland is traditionally divided into three topographic areas: the Highlands in the north, the Midland Valley (Central Lowlands), and the Southern Uplands. (The latter two areas are included in the Lowlands cultural region.)

What are the human features of Scotland?

Scotland’s 10 greatest man-made wonders that you simply MUST…

  • The Kelpies.
  • Glenfinnan Viaduct.
  • Stirling Castle.
  • Falkirk Wheel.
  • Caledonian Canal.
  • Scott Monument.
  • Bell Rock Lighthouse. Bell Rock Lighthouse, off the coast of Angus.
  • Melrose Abbey. Melrose Abbey, Scottish Borders.

What are the major bodies of water in Scotland?

Of all of Scotland’s lochs: Loch Lomond has the largest surface area – 71 sq km. Loch Morar is the deepest loch – at 310m. Loch Ness is the largest loch by volume – it contains more water (7,452 million cubic metres) than all English and Welsh lakes together.

What is Scotland known for?

  • 1: Castles. Stirling Castle, Glasgow.
  • 2: Scottish Highlands. Loch Lomond.
  • 3: Loch Ness Monster. Loch Ness.
  • 4: Bagpipes. Bagpipes.
  • 5: Whisky. Whisky.
  • 6: The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo. The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo.
  • 7: Scottish Wool. Scottish wool.
  • 8: Haggis. Haggis.

What are the characteristics of Scotland?

Scotland’s geography and landscape This lush beautiful country is bursting with green spaces, lush forests, towering mountains and vast lochs (the Scottish word for lakes!). The country can be roughly divided into three areas – lowlands, Highlands and islands.