Menu Close

How many countries colonized Africa in all?

How many countries colonized Africa in all?

But as the length of some resistance struggles amply demonstrates, Africans put up the best resistance with the resources they had. By 1900 much of Africa had been colonized by seven European powers—Britain, France, Germany, Belgium, Spain, Portugal, and Italy.

What countries had colonies in Africa?

Countries that had colonies in Africa were:

  • Britain.
  • France.
  • Portugal.
  • Germany.
  • Belgium.
  • Italy.
  • Spain.

Which African country colonized first?

The Dutch established a colony in Africa before many other European countries. It is also the first colonial country which came to South Africa.

Who divided Africa?

Representatives of 13 European states, the United States of America and the Ottoman Empire converged on Berlin at the invitation of German Chancellor Otto von Bismarck to divide up Africa among themselves “in accordance with international law.” Africans were not invited to the meeting.

Which country in Africa has never been colonized?

Most countries in Africa are colonized except two countries in Africa. These two countries are considered by scholars to never have been colonized: Ethiopia and Liberia. However, few stints of foreign control in the two country has been a subject of debate whether Liberia and Ethiopia truly remained fully independent.

Which African country has the most beautiful ladies?

Top 10 African countries with exceptionally beautiful women

  1. Ethiopia. Ethiopia is considered by many a country with most beautiful women in Africa.
  2. Nigeria.
  3. Tanzania.
  4. Kenya.
  5. DR.
  6. Ivory Coast.
  7. Ghana.
  8. South Africa.

Why is Africa not a country?

The most important thing to know — and we know you know this, but it must be said —is that Africa is not a country. It’s so diverse because Africa is really, really big — about as big as the combined landmasses of China, the United States, India, Japan and much of Europe.

How many European countries had colonies in Africa?

European nations colonized Africa mostly from 1885 to 1910. Countries that had colonies in Africa were: Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Belgium, Portugal, Spain. They held about 97% of the African territories.

Which countries were never colonized?

Ethiopia is considered “never colonized” by some scholars, despite Italy’s occupation from 1936–1941 because that did not result in a lasting colonial administration. In the 1880s, Italy failed to take Abyssinia (as Ethiopia was then known) as a colony.

What continent colonized Africa?

In ancient times, people from Southern Europe and Western Asia colonized North Africa, while people from Southeast Asia colonized Madagascar. In the Middle Ages, North and East Africa was further colonized by people from Western Asia.

What are the African countries colonized by Britain?


  • Basutoland
  • Balleland
  • Bechuanaland
  • British East Africa
  • British Somaliland
  • British Togoland
  • British Cameroons
  • British Egypt
  • Gambia Colony and Protectorate