Menu Close

How many counties make up Northern Ireland?

How many counties make up Northern Ireland?

6 counties
Northern Ireland is made up of 6 counties and the Republic of Ireland is made up of 26 counties.

What counties make up Ireland?

The 26 counties of the Republic of Ireland are Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow.

Do Northern Irish consider themselves British?

In Northern Ireland, national identity is complex and diverse. Most people of Protestant background consider themselves British, while a majority of people of Catholic background consider themselves Irish.

What is the main city in Northern Ireland?

Northern Ireland/Capitals
Belfast, situated in county Antrim, is the capital city of Northern Ireland. There are five cities in the region: Armagh, Belfast, Derry, Lisburn, and Newry. (Lisburn and Newry were granted city status in 2002.)

What are the six countries in Northern Ireland?

Northern Ireland has six counties: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone . These counties were the principal local government divisions of Northern Ireland from its creation in 1921 going on to 1972 when the governmental features were abolished and replaced with the twenty-six unitary authorities which exist today.

What is the biggest county in Northern Ireland?

Donegal is the northernmost county in the Republic, and extends further north than any county in Northern Ireland, sprawling over an area of 1,877 square miles (4,830 square kilometers). Though large, the country is sparsely populated, with just over 150,000 people. Jun 26 2019

How many counties comprise Northern Ireland?

The counties County County town Created Area Population (2011) Antrim Carrickfergus to 1850; Belfast to 1970; 1570 308,645 hectares (762,680 acres) 618,108 Armagh Armagh 1571 132,698 hectares (327,900 acres) 174,792 Down Downpatrick 1570 248,905 hectares (615,060 acres) 531,665 Fermanagh Enniskillen 1588 185,097 hectares (457,380 acres) 61,170

What countries are in Northern Ireland?

Northern Ireland is a constituent part of the United Kingdom, a sovereign nation state that comprises four distinct ‘countries’ – England, Scotland, Wales and of course Northern Ireland.